Friday, August 31, 2012

New Songs; August 2012

Here are the Music Videos of new songs released in August 2012.

  Click to view Playlist

New Song (Video): Duquesne Whistle by Bob Dylan


Song:  Duquesne Whistle
Artist:  Bob Dylan
Release: August 30, 2012 (Album Release)
Genre: Folk - Rock
Length: 5:43
Web: Artist Site | Twitter | FaceBook

This song starts as a simple folk song. But once Mr. Dylan starts singing you know there's nothing simple about it. While some might say he's not a great singer and point to some diva with vocal range like Christina, I'd point out that singing is about expression.

When we're talking about expression, the depth, the soul, the intelligence of Mr. Dylan there's not many musicians (alive or dead) who can compare.

You might not get it on first listen but this is not candy, it's an acquired taste.


 If you don't know who Bob Dylan is .... Well a little bio is not going to do it justice. Without Bob the Beatles could have been just a pop band:

Bob Dylan’s career has lasted the better part of fifty years now. That’s pretty remarkable. What is more impressive is that Dylan has remained not only active for almost all of that period, but controversial. He has never gotten by on sentimentality or nostalgia. He has never repeated his successes. For better or for worse, Dylan has always pushed his work ahead. 

Bob Dylan is as great a songwriter – ah, let’s not beat around the bush – as great an artist as America has produced. But he’d be the first to tell you that he is part of a long line, one link in an endless chain. You can follow his influence backward or forward according to your own inclination. Or you can spend a long time just listening to Dylan’s five decades of contributions. Wherever you go into it, and whatever you get out of it, your time will be well spent - Bill Flanagan - New York, 2007

His new album Tempest is coming Sept. 11.

Thursday, August 30, 2012

New Music Video: Champion by The Chevin


Song: Champion
Artist: The Chevin
Release: August 22, 2012 (Official Video Release)
Genre: Rock - Alt
Length: 3:48
Web: Artist Site | Twitter | FaceBook

Seen The Chevin perform this song on Letterman last night ... Wow! Even Dave was quite impressed. As I know lots of people don`t stay up to 12:30 AM I figured I`d list the new video.

The soaring vocals take the cake!


 The Chevin is a Leeds, UK based indie rock band formed in 2010. The band is composed of four childhood friends, Coyle Girelli (lead vocals and guitars), Mat Steel (guitars and keyboards), Jon Langford (bass guitar) and Mal Taylor (drums.) The band gets their name from the The Chevin, a ridge overlooking their home town of Otley, West Yorkshire.

The band has toured Europe supporting Franz Ferdinand, White Lies, The Airborne Toxic Event and The Pigeon Detectives.

Their new album Borderland is being released Sept. 25.

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

New Song (Video): Knock Knock by Band of Horses


Song: Knock Knock
Artist: Band of Horses
Release: August 25, 2012 (Video Release)
Genre: Rock
Length: 5:14
Web: Artist Site | Twitter | FaceBook

Unfortunately the video for this song gets in the way of a good tune. Isn't a music video supposed to promote a band? But forget the vid, here's a good song about something we can all relate to ... Knocking on the door, when nothing is going your way?


Band of Horses, originally briefly known as Horses, is an American rock band formed in 2004 in Seattle by Ben Bridwell. They have released three studio albums, the most successful of which is 2010's Grammy nominated Infinite Arms.

The band's line up, which included Mat Brooke for their debut album, has undergone several changes, although the current members, Bridwell, Ryan Monroe, Tyler Ramsey, Bill Reynolds, and Creighton Barrett have all been with the band for several years. Band of Horses 4th studio album, Mirage Rock, is due out in September 2012.

Their new album Mirage Rock is available September 18th.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

New Song (Video): Feel Again by OneRepublic


Song: Feel Again
Artist: OneRepublic
Release: August 28, 2012 (Song Release)
Genre: Rock
Length: 3:18
Web: Artist Site | Twitter | FaceBook

A nice, feel-good song which celebrates new chapters in life. Wherever you are, whatever your situation, things DO change ... They might not happen exactly when or how you want but hang in there long enough and they do happen.

As Woody Allen says "80% of success is just showing up" so just keep showing up!


OneRepublic is an American rock band from Colorado Springs, Colorado. Formed in 2002 by Ryan Tedder and Zach Filkins, the band achieved massive success on MySpace, becoming the most prominent unsigned act on the website then. They signed onto Mosley Music Group in 2006, and released their debut album, Dreaming Out Loud in 2007.

Their new album (untitled as of yet) will be released November 13.

Thursday, August 23, 2012

New Song: Robotic by Hannah Georgas


Song: Robotic
Artist: Hannah Georgas
Release: August 22, 2012 (Song Release)
Genre: Rock - Alt
Length: 3:58
Web: Artist Site | Twitter | FaceBook

Here's a catchy ditty that features a beautiful voice. As we start coming up to the end of summer don't we all want to hit reset?


 Hannah Georgas is a Canadian pop/rock singer-songwriter, currently based in Vancouver, British Columbia. She was nominated in the category of Best New Artist of the Year at the 2011 Juno Awards.

This is the first single from Hannah Georgas' self-titled sophomore album, out October 2, 2012 on Dine Alone Records.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

New Song: Lover Alot by Aerosmith


Song: Lover Alot
Artist: Aerosmith
Release: August 22, 2012 (Song Release)
Genre: Rock
Length: 3:35
Web: Artist Site | Twitter | FaceBook

Here's a fresh one for you, 2 hours old. Aerosmith has been pronounced dead multiple times so it's great to hear they can still put out a good rocker! I'm sure with all the new fans from Idol and this worthy song they'll kick their way up to the top again.


Aerosmith is an American rock band, sometimes referred to as "The Bad Boys from Boston" and "America's Greatest Rock and Roll Band." Their style, which is rooted in blues-based hard rock, has come to also incorporate elements of pop, heavy metal, and rhythm and blues, and has inspired many subsequent rock artists.

 The band was formed in Boston, Massachusetts in 1970. Guitarist Joe Perry and bassist Tom Hamilton, originally in a band together called the Jam Band, met up with singer Steven Tyler, drummer Joey Kramer, and guitarist Ray Tabano, and formed Aerosmith. In 1971, Tabano was replaced by Brad Whitford, and the band began developing a following in Boston.